Driving while suspended in New Jersey can land you in Municipal Court with expensive fines and further suspension of your license. Many people don't even know their license is suspended until they are pulled over for a minor traffic violation and informed by police of the suspension. Under state law, the punishment for this offense is the same, even if you weren't aware your license wasn't valid. For this reason, it is important to contact a defense attorney if accused of this offense.
There are several reasons a New Jersey driver's license can be suspended. Below are the most common causes of suspension.
If you are charged with driving while suspended in New Jersey, you could be facing severe punishments and hefty fines. The severity of your fines and further license suspensions is based on whether this is your first charge for this offense. First time offenders can expect a $500 fine and an extended suspension of up to 180 days. If the underlying cause of the license suspension was due to traffic offenses, a judge might choose not to impose all sanctions.
Drivers caught driving without a license for the second time can expect an increased fine of $750, 180 extended license suspension, and jail time of 1 to 5 days. Any subsequent charge of driving without a license comes with a $1,000 fine, 10 days in jail, and up to 6 month suspension of a New Jersey driver's license.
If you are accused of driving under suspension, you may be facing the loss of your license and financial hardship due to expensive fines. To aid in your case, you need to enlist the help of a defense attorney immediately. Daniel E. Berger, ESQ., is available for immediate assistance day or night and has handled many cases of this nature.