Reckless Driving in NJ | Toms River, Ocean County, NJ

Reckless driving is a misdemeanor crime in New Jersey. For a person to be convicted of this offense, the state must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the driver was driving with willfulness and wantonness with no regard to others safety or property.
New Jersey Reckless Driving Penalties

If convicted of driving recklessly in New Jersey, a person can face severe consequences or punishments. The extent of punishment and consequences is dependent upon circumstances surrounding the charge and the magnitude of any injuries or damage that occurred. The harshest penalties for this offense are listed below.

  • Driver's license suspension or revocation
  • Possible jail time
  • Deportation of non-US citizen
  • Parole revocation
  • Criminal record

Driver's convicted of reckless driving for the first time can include fines of $50 to $200 and up to 60 days jail time. However, if a driver has a similar offense in the past, the fine can increase to $500 and increase jail time to 90 days. Second time offenders can also accrue up to 5 points on their driver's license.

Reckless Driving Plea Bargain

If a driver is charged with driving recklessly, a defense attorney may be able to strike a plea bargain with prosecution to a less severe charge. For example, drivers may plead guilty to speeding to avoid a reckless driving charge. Another option in this situation is a careless driving charge. A careless driving charge is a less grievous version of the previous and has reduced point accruals and fines. The definition of careless driving under New Jersey law is driving without due caution that poses a danger to others or property. Examples of careless driving include swerving, speeding, tailgating, and similar bad driving behavior. The ability to access a plea bargain requires you to have a knowledgeable defense attorney. A proper attorney will help determine whether a client should take a plea bargain or proceed with the case.

Charged with Reckless Driving

New Jersey drivers that are charged with reckless driving may have several defense options available to them. For instance, the following infractions in themselves are not sufficient to warrant a driving reckless charge.

  • Simple traffic infraction
  • Unexpected braking due to slippery road conditions
  • Car accident
  • No headlights
  • Alcohol consumption (only if under state intoxication limit)
  • Speeding
  • U-turn without proper signal
  • Inattentiveness

If a driver's reckless driving charged is based solely on committing one of the minor offenses above, a defense attorney may be able to have the case dismissed. Or, at the very least, have the charges dropped to a less severe offense with legal and financial consequences.

New Jersey Defense Attorney

Contact an Attorney if You are Charged with Driving Recklessly in New Jersey

If you are charged with driving recklessly in New Jersey, you need to take the charge seriously and contact a lawyer as soon as possible. There are many ways to fight this type of charge and options available if you have proper legal representation. Without a defense attorney, a driver may face serious consequences and expensive penalties. To help build the strongest case possible, contact Mr. Daniel Berger, Esq., immediately after being charged. Mr. Berger is available any time for a free consultation and can provide immediate assistance.